Dear Honorable Members of the Illinois Congressional Delegation,

We, the undersigned members of the Illinois General Assembly, urge you and your colleagues to vote against cuts or harmful changes to the Medicaid program.

Medicaid is vital coverage for 3.4 million Illinois residents including 1.5 million children (almost half of all children in the state) and serves as the backbone of our healthcare delivery system which serves all Illinois residents. Medicaid operates as a state and federal partnership and any changes at the federal level will have a direct impact on state budgets, not to mention patients and providers in our districts. From urban to rural communities and everywhere in between, tens of thousands of Medicaid beneficiaries reside <u>in each of our districts</u>. Rural and urban hospitals depend on Medicaid to <u>keep providing in-patient care</u>.

We urge our colleagues in Congress to vote NO on any cuts or changes to Medicaid that would result in cost-shifting to the state and reducing patient eligibility and benefits and/or healthcare provider reimbursement.

While cuts to Medicaid may result in short-term savings, taking care away from millions of Illinoisans comes at a significant, long-term cost. Illinois Medicaid is efficient: we are 44th in the nation for Medicaid spending per enrollee and Medicaid costs are well below those for private insurance. Medicaid helps keep everyone's healthcare costs down by reducing our uninsured rate.

It is also critical to keeping rural hospitals' and community health centers' doors open and providing jobs throughout the State. Medicaid is also the primary payor of mental health and substance use treatment services in addition to enabling coverage for people with disabilities and older adults needing long-term care.

The bottom line is that Medicaid enables Illinoisans to stay healthy and engaged in their jobs, families, and communities. We hope that we can partner to ensure that this continues to be the case for years to come.

Sincerely,

State Representative Amy Murri Briel 76th District

State Representative Ann Williams
11th District

State Representative Anna Moeller 43rd District

State Representative Anne Stava-Murray 81st District

State Representative Dagmara Avelar	State Representative Daniel Didech
85th District	59th District
State Representative Diane Blair- Sherlock	State Representative Hoan Huynh
46th District	13th District
State Representative Jay Hoffman	State Representative Joyce Mason
113rd District	61st District
State Representative Katie Stuart	State Representative Kelly Cassidy
112nd District	14th District
State Representative La Shawn K Ford 8th District	State Representative Laura Faver Dias 62nd District
State Representative Lilian Jimenez 4th District	State Representative Lindsey LaPointe 9th District
State Representative Lisa Davis 32nd District	State Representative Margaret Croke 12th District
State Representative Marti Deuter	State Representative Mary Beth Canty
45th District	54th District
State Representative Maura Hirschauer 49th District	State Representative Michael Crawford 31st District
State Representative Michael Kelly 15th District	State Representative Michelle Mussman 56th District

State Representative Nabeela Syed	State Representative Natalie Manley
51st District	98th District
State Representative Nicolle Grasse 53rd District	State Representative Norma Hernandez 77th District
State Representative Robyn Gabel	State Representative Sharon Chung
18th District	91st District
State Represenative Stephanie Kifowit 84th District	State Representative Suzanne Ness 66th District
State Representative Terra Costa Howard	State Representative Theresa Mah
42nd District	24th District
State Representative Tracy Katz Muhl 57th District	State Representative Yolonda Morris 9th District
State Senator Adriane Johnson	State Senator Celina Villanueva
30th District	12th District
State Senator Christopher Belt	State Senator Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
57th District	17th District
State Senator Graciela Guzman	State Senator Karina Villa
20th District	25th District
State Senator Lakesia Collins 5th District	State Senator Mary Edly-Allen 31st District

State Senator Mattie Hunter
3rd District

State Senator Mike Simmons
7th District

State Senator Omar Aquino 2nd District

State Senator Rachel Ventura 43rd District

State Senator Ram Villivalam 8th District State Senator Robert Martwick

10th District

State Senator Robert Peters
13th District

State Senator Sara Feigenholtz 6th District

[1] https://capitolnewsillinois.com/news/pritzkers-budget-office-projects-3-2b-deficit-in-early-look-at-upcoming-fiscal-year/

- [2] https://files.kff.org/attachment/fact-sheet-medicaid-state-IL
- [3] https://hfs.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/hfs/sitecollectiondocuments/fy24condistenrollments.pdf
- [4] https://files.kff.org/attachment/fact-sheet-medicaid-state-IL